To Ask Questions Or Schedule Consultation
502 500 4089

Calvary Cross

There are 3 steps that make up the base on which the cross sets. Some bases are shaped to resemble the hill where Christ died. In the Protestant faith the three steps represent the Holy Trinity. In the Catholic religion the three steps stand for faith, hope and love. There are many types of cemetery markers that use this 3-step foundation.

Celtic Cross

Similar to the Latin cross but with a circle intersecting the upright and the crossbar. There are many names for what we know as the Celtic cross: the high cross, ring cross, sun cross, solar cross, wheel cross, halo cross, disc cross, Irish Cross, Woden's Cross, Ionic Cross, Odin's Cross and St Brigid's Cross, although each cross has some variation. Most are ornate. Celtic crosses became popular in U.S. cemeteries in the late 19th- century.

Cross and Angel

Angels are believed to be the guardians of mankind and can intercede for assistance from Heaven. Notice the wreath that indicates victory over death being hung on the cross to the left. The angel on the right stands on the 3-step formation.

Cross and Lilies

One or several lilies located on a cross represent resurrection and hope.

Cross and Crown

This symbolizes Christ suffering on the cross and victory over death.

Cross and Chalice

The chalice represents the sacraments and forgiveness. It usually marks the grave of clergy or priests.

Cross and Scythe

The scythe is an instrument used to reap grain. It represents someone cut down in the prime of life. But when attached to the cross, hints of the divine gathering up of souls.


The Catholic, Lutheran, Anglican and Eastern Orthodox religions used the crucifix to depicts the corpus or the body of Christ, indicating that Christ is more important that the cross itself. The Virgin Mary and Saint John may be shown at the base of the Crucifix.

Cross and Wreath

This symbolizes Christ's victory over death and eternal life.

Greek Cross

The arms are all the same length on this cross. This is one of the most common types of crosses in the world.

Latin Cross

This cross has the cross bar about 1/3 of the way down from the top and does not include the corpus or Christ body on it. The Protestant religions use this cross as their symbol feeling that it represents their belief in resurrection.

Heart Cross

This is usually a Latin cross that is embellished with a heart symbolizing love.

Rustic cross

This cross was a popular memorial in the 1920s and 1930s. The rustic appearance takes a form almost resembling wood. Almost always made of granite or marble, it may have a rough granite base.

I H S cross

Three letters usually appear on the crossbar and are derived from the first three letters of Jesus' name in Greek - Iota, Eta and Sigma. This has also been said to stand for the Latin words "Iesus Hominum Salvator - "Jesus, mankind's savior."

Draped Cross

The draping indicates the last veil between earth and heaven. A cross that is draped may indicate the death of an older person.
This woman is hanging on the cross indicating unwavering faith. This marker is commonlyused on Masonic graves.

Woman at Cross

The statue of a woman mourning the loss of someone abounds in cemeteries around the world for women have always had the distinct responsibility of attending to the dead. Also, there is usually a wreath on the gravestone indicating victory over death.
These women is leaning on the cross to gain comfort and strength.